Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies

Ralph R. Roberts
Real estate professional and coauthor of
Foreclosure Investing For Dummies
Chip Cummings
Real estate financing expert and author
Evaluate potential lenders
Maximize your cash flow
Finance through private lenders
Tap into government programs
Learn to:
Financing Real Estate
Investments
Making Everything Easier!
Open the book and find:
Real-world advice on financing
without tying up all your capital
How to get prequalified or
preapproved for a loan
Questions to ask your lender
upfront
Ways to avoid common beginner
blunders
How to protect your personal
assets from investment risks
Bargain-hunting hints for
low-cost loans
Strategies for surviving a credit
crunch
Ten pre-closing steps you must
take
Ralph R. Roberts is an internationally acclaimed real
estate agent, speaker, investor, and consultant. Chip
Cummings is a real estate lending expert, a Certified
Mortgage Consultant with more than 25 years of
experience, and a seasoned real estate investor. Roberts
and Cummings coauthored Mortgage Myths: 77 Secrets
That Will Save You Thousands on Home Financing.
$21.99 US / $25.99 CN / £15.99 UK
ISBN 978-0-470-42233-5
Business/Real Estate
Go to dummies.com
®
for more!
Want to be a smart, successful real estate investor?
This no-nonsense guide contains everything
you must know to make the right choices about
financing your investments — from the various
options available and the impact on cash flow to
the tax implications and risk factors involved. You
also get tried-and-true tips for surviving a down
market and using current investments to finance
future ones.
A crash course in real estate financing
understand standard terms and concepts, learn the
various sources of investment capital, and gather
all essential facts and figures
Weigh your options — decide which type of
f
in
ancing is best for your circumstances and
incorporate it into your real estate investing plan
Finance residential properties — evaluate
r
es
idential loan programs, navigate the loan
application and processing, and handle the closing
Invest in commercial properties — know the
d
if
ferent property types, choose the one that meets
your investment goals, and discover unique sources
for financing
Tap into unconventional sources — discover the
p
ro
s and cons of “hard money,” capitalize on seller
financing, partner to share risk and equity, and
invest on the cheap with no-money-down deals
Your practical guide to
scoring cash to fuel your
real estate investments
Financing Real Estate Investments
Roberts
Cummings
Spine: .576 in
02_422335-ftoc.qxp 3/11/09 11:50 AM Page viii
Financing Real Estate
Investments
FOR
DUMmIES
by Ralph R. Roberts and
Chip Cummings with Joe Kraynak
01_422335-ffirs.qxp 3/11/09 11:49 AM Page i
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies
®
Published by
Wiley Publishing, Inc.
111 River St.
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www.wiley.com
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Published by Wiley Publishing, Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana
Published simultaneously in Canada
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01_422335-ffirs.qxp 3/11/09 11:49 AM Page ii
About the Authors
Ralph R. Roberts, CRS, GRI, is a seasoned professional in all areas
of real estate, including buying and selling homes, investing in real
estate, and building and managing real estate agent teams. He has
been profiled by the Associated Press, CNN, and
Time magazine,
and has done hundreds of radio interviews. He has authored and
coauthored several successful titles, including
Flipping Houses For
Dummies, Foreclosure Investing For Dummies, Foreclosure Self-Defense
For Dummies, Mortgage Myths: 77 Secrets That Will Save You Thousands
on Home Financing, and Foreclosure Myths: 77 Secrets to Saving
Thousands on Distressed Properties!
(John Wiley & Sons); Protect
Yourself Against Real Estate and Mortgage Fraud: Preserving the
American Dream of Homeownership
(Kaplan); and REAL WEALTH by
Investing in REAL ESTATE
(Prentice Hall).
To find out more about Ralph Roberts and what he can offer you
and your organization as a speaker and coach, visit
AboutRalph.com.
For details on how to protect yourself and your home from real
estate and mortgage fraud, check out Ralph’s blog at
Flipping
Frenzy.com
. And don’t miss the latest addition to Ralph’s family of
Web sites and blogs,
GetFlipping.com, where Ralph offers addi-
tional information and tips on the art of flipping houses and invest-
ing in foreclosures and pre-foreclosures. You can contact Ralph by
emailing him at
RalphRoberts@RalphRoberts.com or calling
586-751-0000.
Chip Cummings, CMC, is a recognized expert in the areas of real
estate lending and e-Marketing, and is a Certified Mortgage
Consultant with more than 25 years in the mortgage industry and
more than a billion dollars in sales volume.
Chip has written hundreds of articles and appeared numerous times
on radio, television, and in various magazines including
Entrepreneur,
Mortgage Originator, Real Estate Banker/Broker, and The Mortgage
Press
. He is an experienced professional in all areas of real estate
financing, including residential and commercial mortgages, govern-
ment lending, regulatory and compliance issues. He is past president
of the MMBA (Michigan Mortgage Brokers Association), and is a
licensed mortgage broker and lender in Michigan.
As an international speaker, he has addressed groups and organiza-
tions of all types, and trains thousands of mortgage professionals
from around the country every year. Chip is a certified national
trainer for continuing education in more than 40 states, and has
served as an expert witness in state and federal courts. He is also
the author of
ABC’s of FHA Lending and Stop Selling and Start
Listening! – Marketing Strategies That Create Top Producers
(Northwind), Mortgage Myths: 77 Secrets That Will Save You
Thousands on Home Financing
, Foreclosure Myths: 77 Secrets to
Saving Thousands on Distressed Properties!
and Cashing In on Pre-
foreclosures and Short Sales
(John Wiley & Sons).
01_422335-ffirs.qxp 3/11/09 11:49 AM Page iii
Chip lives in Rockford, Michigan with his wife Lisa and three chil-
dren, Katelyn, CJ, and Joe.
To learn more about Chip Cummings, his many successful products
or how he can help your organization as a speaker or business con-
sultant, visit
www.ChipCummings.com. To receive a complimen-
tary subscription to his multimedia e-newsletter and online events,
check out
www.eCoachingClub.com. You can also reach Chip by
emailing him at
info@ChipCummings.com or by calling
616-977-7900.
Joe Kraynak (joekraynak.com) is a freelance author who has
written and coauthored numerous books on topics ranging from
slam poetry to computer basics. Joe teamed up with Dr. Candida
Fink to write his first book in the
For Dummies series, Bipolar
Disorder For Dummies,
where he showcased his talent for translat-
ing the complexities of a topic into plain-spoken practical advice.
He then teamed up with Roberts to write the ultimate guide to flip-
ping houses —
Flipping Houses For Dummies and delivered encore
performances in
Foreclosure Investing For Dummies, Advanced
Selling For Dummies
, and Foreclosure Self-Defense For Dummies. In
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies, Joe assists Chip and
Ralph in delivering the ultimate guide to scoring some cash to fuel
your investments in real estate.
01_422335-ffirs.qxp 3/11/09 11:49 AM Page iv
Dedication
From Ralph: To real estate investors and professionals who are
dedicated to supporting and promoting the American dream of
homeownership.
From Chip: To my assistant Debbie Forth who has managed to keep
me organized for the last 14 years, and to my wife Lisa who puts up
with all the crazy hours and remains my #1 fan.
Authors’ Acknowledgments
Thanks to acquisitions editor Lindsay Lefevere, who chose us to
author this book and guided us through the tough part of getting
started and to our agent, Neil Salkind of StudioB (
www.StudioB.com),
who ironed out all the preliminary details to make this book possible.
Chad Sievers, our project editor, deserves a loud cheer for acting as a
very patient collaborator and gifted editor — shuffling chapters back
and forth, shepherding the text through production, making sure any
technical issues were properly resolved, and serving as the unofficial
quality control manager. Megan Knoll, our copy editor, earns an editor
of the year award for ferreting out our typos, misspellings, grammatical
errors, and other language faux pas-es, in addition to assisting Chad as
reader advocate — asking the questions we should have asked our-
selves. And, we tip our hats to the production crew for doing such an
outstanding job of transforming a loose collection of text and illustra-
tions into such an attractive bound book.
We also wish to express our appreciation to the National Association
of Mortgage Brokers, National Association of Realtors
®
, the Mortgage
Bankers Association of America, and the Michigan Mortgage Brokers
Association for their support and assistance.
We owe special thanks to our technical editor, Patrick Lecomte, for
flagging technical errors in the manuscript, helping guide its con-
tent, and offering his own tips, tricks, and insights from the world of
real estate financing.
01_422335-ffirs.qxp 3/11/09 11:49 AM Page v
Publisher’s Acknowledgments
We’re proud of this book; please send us your comments through our Dummies online regis-
tration form located at http://dummies.custhelp.com. For other comments, please con-
tact our Customer Care Department within the U.S. at 877-762-2974, outside the U.S. at
317-572-3993, or fax 317-572-4002.
Some of the people who helped bring this book to market include the following:
Acquisitions, Editorial, and
Media Development
Project Editor: Chad R. Sievers
Acquisitions Editor: Lindsay Lefevere
Copy Editor: Megan Knoll
Assistant Editor: Erin Calligan Mooney
Editorial Program Coordinator: Joe Niesen
Technical Editor: Patrick Lecomte, MA, MBA
Editorial Manager: Michelle Hacker
Editorial Assistant: Jennette ElNaggar
Cover Photos: © Comstock Images
Cartoons: Rich Tennant
(www.the5thwave.com)
Composition Services
Project Coordinator: Patrick Redmond
Layout and Graphics: Melanee Habig,
Melissa K. Jester, Christine Williams
Proofreader: ConText Editorial
Services, Inc.
Indexer: Potomac Indexing, LLC
Publishing and Editorial for Consumer Dummies
Diane Graves Steele, Vice President and Publisher, Consumer Dummies
Kristin Ferguson-Wagstaffe, Product Development Director, Consumer Dummies
Ensley Eikenburg, Associate Publisher, Travel
Kelly Regan, Editorial Director, Travel
Publishing for Technology Dummies
Andy Cummings, Vice President and Publisher, Dummies Technology/General User
Composition Services
Gerry Fahey, Vice President of Production Services
Debbie Stailey, Director of Composition Services
01_422335-ffirs.qxp 3/11/09 11:49 AM Page vi
Contents at a Glance
Introduction.......................................................1
Part I: Gearing Up for Financing
Your Real Estate Investments..............................7
Chapter 1: Taking a Crash Course in Real
Estate Investment Financing ..............................................................9
Chapter 2: Shielding Your Personal Assets from Investment Risks...25
Chapter 3: Gathering Essential Documents, Facts, and Figures.........43
Chapter 4: Scoping Out Prospective Lenders.......................................61
Part II: Financing the Purchase
of Residential Properties..................................77
Chapter 5: Finding the Residential Loan Program
That’s Right for You ...........................................................................79
Chapter 6: Bargain Hunting for Low-Cost Loans ..................................93
Chapter 7: Navigating the Loan Application and Processing ...........105
Part III: Financing the Purchase
of Commercial Properties................................127
Chapter 8: Picking the Right Commercial Property Type for You....129
Chapter 9: Exploring Sources of Financing
for Commercial Properties .............................................................149
Chapter 10: Securing a Loan to Finance
Your Commercial Venture...............................................................163
Part IV: Sampling More Creative
Financing Strategies ......................................173
Chapter 11: Financing in a Pinch with Hard Money
and Other Tough Options ...............................................................175
Chapter 12: Capitalizing on Seller Financing ......................................193
Chapter 13: Partnering to Share the Risk and the Equity .................207
Chapter 14: Profiting from No-Money-Down
and Other Creative Deals................................................................219
Part V: The Part of Tens..................................231
Chapter 15: Ten Ways to Avoid Common Beginner Blunders...........233
Chapter 16: Ten Steps to Take before Closing ....................................239
Chapter 17: Ten Tips for Surviving a Credit Crunch..........................245
Glossary........................................................251
Index.............................................................261
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Table of Contents
Introduction .......................................................1
About This Book .........................................................................1
Conventions Used in This Book ................................................2
What You’re Not to Read............................................................3
Foolish Assumptions ..................................................................3
How This Book Is Organized......................................................3
Part I: Gearing Up for Financing
Your Real Estate Investments......................................4
Part II: Financing the Purchase
of Residential Properties .............................................4
Part III: Financing the Purchase
of Commercial Properties............................................4
Part IV: Sampling More Creative
Financing Strategies .....................................................4
Part V: The Part of Tens...................................................5
Icons Used in This Book.............................................................5
Where to Go From Here..............................................................5
Part I: Gearing Up for Financing
Your Real Estate Investments...............................7
Chapter 1: Taking a Crash Course in Real Estate
Investment Financing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
Pumping Up Your Purchasing Power with Borrowed Money ...10
Minimizing your potential by owning
property free and clear ..............................................10
Maximizing your potential with
other people’s money.................................................10
Paying cash with borrowed money..............................11
Brushing Up on Basic Real Estate Financing Lingo ..............12
Identifying types of lenders...........................................12
Grasping different loan types........................................13
Brushing up on important legal lingo ..........................14
Pointing out mortgage concepts ..................................16
Examining equity ............................................................16
Looking at loan-to-value (LTV)......................................17
Distinguishing Investment and Home Financing...................17
Paying a premium for riskier investment loans..........17
Using quick cash to snag bargain prices .....................18
Accounting for taxes on your capital gains
(or losses)....................................................................18
Protecting your personal assets...................................19
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Exploring Common Sources of Investment Capital ..............19
Tapping your own cash reserves..................................20
Borrowing from commercial lenders ...........................21
Obtaining a hard money loan........................................22
Financing your purchase through the seller ...............22
Taking on a partner ........................................................22
Prepping to Meet with a Lender..............................................23
Gathering paperwork and other info ...........................23
Crafting a business plan.................................................24
Chapter 2: Shielding Your Personal
Assets from Investment Risks . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
Understanding Why You Need to
Protect Your Personal Assets ..............................................26
Limiting Your Personal Liability by Forming an LLC............26
Understanding the pros and cons ................................27
Setting up an LLC............................................................28
Taking and securing title to real estate........................28
Eyeing Sub-S corporations and partnerships .............29
Transferring Personal Assets via Trusts................................30
Weighing the pros and cons of owning property
in another’s name .......................................................31
Gaining asset and tax protection
with an irrevocable trust ...........................................32
Considering real estate investment trusts (REITs) ....33
Staying Away from Promissory Notes
with Recourse Clauses .........................................................33
Opting for a nonrecourse loan......................................34
Negotiating the recourse clause...................................34
Avoiding cross-collateralization ...................................35
Steering Clear of Real Estate and Mortgage Fraud ...............36
Telling the truth on your application...........................37
Dodging predatory lenders ...........................................38
Saying “no” to inflated appraisals ................................39
Turning your back on cash-back-at-closing
schemes .......................................................................40
Avoiding illegal flipping..................................................40
Defending yourself against chunking schemes...........41
Refusing a builder bailout..............................................41
Acting with integrity: The golden rule .........................42
Chapter 3: Gathering Essential Documents,
Facts, and Figures . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 43
Examining Your Credit Reports...............................................43
Obtaining free copies of your reports..........................44
Checking your credit score ...........................................45
Inspecting your report for problems ...........................46
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies
x
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Repairing your credit and boosting your score..........47
Avoiding mistakes that can sabotage
your loan approval...................................................................48
Chasing Down Vital Paperwork...............................................49
Delving into your personal financial information.......49
Accounting for business income ..................................53
Documenting the property you plan to purchase......54
Show Me the Money: Identifying Sources of Ready Cash....59
Sources of cash for down payments,
closing costs, and prepaid items ..............................59
Rainy day funds: Cash reserves....................................60
Getting Prequalified or Preapproved......................................60
Chapter 4: Scoping Out Prospective Lenders . . . . . . . . 61
Borrowing Directly from Banks...............................................61
Weighing the pros and cons..........................................62
Conventional loans.........................................................64
Subprime (nonconforming) loans ................................65
Dealing with a Middleman (or Woman): Mortgage Brokers ...66
Weighing the pros and cons..........................................67
Shaking the branches for a broker ...............................68
Checking a broker’s credentials....................................68
Taking the Hard-Money Route through Private Lenders .....70
Borrowing from Uncle Sam: Government Loan Programs ......72
Financing through the Seller ...................................................73
Lease options ..................................................................73
Land contracts ................................................................74
Teaming Up with a Cash-Heavy Partner.................................74
Opting for a limited partnership...................................75
Going the corporation route .........................................76
Part II: Financing the Purchase
of Residential Properties ...................................77
Chapter 5: Finding the Residential Loan
Program That’s Right for You . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 79
Understanding Why Finding the Right
Residential Loan Is Key ........................................................79
Choosing a Loan Type to Maximize Your Cash Flow............80
The power of OPM (other people’s money)................81
Interest-only mortgages.................................................82
Grabbing a hold of ARMs...............................................83
Hybrids.............................................................................85
Hard-money loans: Private investors...........................85
Taking Advantage of Government-Secured Loans................86
Tapping the FHA for a loan............................................86
Viewing Veterans Affairs (VA) loans.............................89
Table of Contents
xi
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Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies
xii
Considering REO loans ..................................................89
Tapping into state and local grants and loans............90
Digging up USDA Rural Development loans ................92
Avoiding the Prepayment Penalty Trap .................................92
Chapter 6: Bargain Hunting for Low-Cost Loans. . . . . . 93
Understanding How This Interest Thing Works....................93
Keeping simple with simple interest............................94
Grasping the concept of amortization .........................94
Telling the difference between the
interest rate and APR ................................................96
Exploring how adjustable rate mortgages work.........97
Paying interest upfront with points .............................98
Considering the Mortgage Term .............................................99
Accounting for Closing Costs ................................................100
Getting socked with origination fees .........................100
Forking over other fees................................................100
Examining the Good Faith Estimate ...........................102
Calculating a Loan’s Total Cost .............................................103
Chapter 7: Navigating the Loan Application
and Processing . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 105
Completing Your Loan Application.......................................105
Walking through the parts of the loan application...106
Reviewing the lender’s disclosures............................108
Supplying the requested documentation ..................111
Signing a release of information .................................112
Following the Loan Processing Trail ....................................112
Getting up to speed on the underwriting process ...113
Obtaining an appraisal or AVM ...................................113
Having the property inspected...................................114
Obtaining a survey .......................................................119
Navigating the Closing............................................................120
Keeping your attorney in the loop .............................120
Dealing with the preliminaries....................................120
Signing the documents.................................................122
Knowing your right of rescission . . . or lack thereof ...122
Dealing with surprises .................................................123
Financing Other Types of Residential Properties...............124
Digging up money for vacation properties................124
Financing investment properties................................125
Purchasing vacant land................................................126
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Table of Contents
xiii
Part III: Financing the Purchase
of Commercial Properties.................................127
Chapter 8: Picking the Right Commercial
Property Type for You. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 129
Estimating the Income Potential
of a Commercial Property ..................................................130
Calculating effective gross income (EGI)...................130
Calculating Net Operating Income (NOI)...................131
Estimating the property’s true value .........................132
Projecting future profits with a pro forma ................133
Dwelling On the Thought of Multifamily Homes.................134
Two- to four-family homes...........................................135
Garden apartments.......................................................136
Large multifamily properties.......................................136
Crunching the numbers ...............................................138
Buying and Renting Out Office Space:
The A-to-D Grading Scale ...................................................139
Investing in Retail Real Estate ...............................................140
Collecting your cut of gross sales...............................141
Comparing strip malls and convenience stores .......142
Running Your Own Hotel or Motel........................................142
Distinguishing between flagged
and unflagged properties.........................................143
Encountering income challenges................................144
Checking Out Industrial or Warehouse Properties.............145
Calculating income and costs .....................................145
Considering storage facilities......................................146
Exploring Mixed-Use Properties ...........................................146
Sampling Some Special Use Properties................................146
Restaurants and bars ...................................................147
Gas stations ...................................................................148
Adult foster care ...........................................................148
Chapter 9: Exploring Sources of Financing
for Commercial Properties . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 149
Sizing Up Various Commercial Loan Programs ...................150
Exploring the middle market (local
and national banks)..................................................150
Hitting up the private sector:
Hard-money lenders .................................................151
Financing Main Street property
with Wall Street money ............................................152
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Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies
xiv
Pursuing Government Loans .................................................153
Financing housing and medical facilities
through FHA loans....................................................153
Tapping into economic development
funds and grants .......................................................154
Securing a loan through the SBA................................154
Harvesting investment capital through the USDA....156
Getting a hold of a CDBG .............................................157
Deconstructing Construction Loans ....................................158
Financing Fixes with Rehabilitation Loans ..........................158
Exploring Other Creative Financing Options ......................159
Borrowing from pension programs
and life insurance companies..................................159
Enlisting the services of venture capitalists .............160
Sharing the costs and the equity................................161
Participating in participation loans ...........................161
Taking on a partner ......................................................162
Considering other potential sources of capital ........162
Chapter 10: Securing a Loan to Finance
Your Commercial Venture . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 163
Deciphering the Broker-Borrower Agreement ....................163
Accounting for Upfront Fees .................................................165
Obtaining Third-Party Reports..............................................167
Verifying a property’s market value
with an appraisal ......................................................167
Plotting the perimeter with a survey .........................168
Inspecting the title........................................................168
Obtaining an engineering report ................................169
Getting a clean bill of environmental health.............169
Navigating the Closing............................................................170
Protecting yourself with title insurance ....................170
Insuring your property ................................................171
Attending to existing tenant rights.............................172
Part IV: Sampling More Creative
Financing Strategies .......................................173
Chapter 11: Financing in a Pinch with Hard
Money and Other Tough Options . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 175
Weighing the Pros and Cons of Hard Money .......................176
Perusing the pros..........................................................176
Considering the cons ...................................................177
Managing the Expense of a Hard-Money Loan ....................179
Calculating points.........................................................179
Adding up the interest .................................................180
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Table of Contents
xv
Subtracting the tax savings .........................................180
Paying back the loan sooner to save money.............181
Locating Local Hard-Money Lenders....................................183
Asking your broker for leads.......................................183
Networking through local investment groups ..........183
Perusing ads in local newspapers ..............................184
Searching the Web ........................................................184
Getting preapproval .....................................................185
Hitting Up Friends and Relatives for a Loan........................185
Grasping the pros and cons ........................................186
Identifying the moneybags in your circle..................187
Drawing up an agreement............................................187
Honoring securities laws .............................................189
Financing Fix-Ups with a Home
Equity Loan or Line of Credit ............................................189
Understanding home equity loans and LOCs ...........190
Maxing out your LOC ...................................................190
Applying for an LOC .....................................................191
Supplementing Your Financing with Credit Cards..............191
Eyeing the pros to credit card use .............................191
Choosing a credit card with low
interest and plenty of perks ....................................192
Chapter 12: Capitalizing on Seller Financing . . . . . . . 193
Buying Property on Contract with a Land Contract...........193
The ups and downs of buying
a property on contract.............................................194
Inspecting the title........................................................195
Beware of the due on sale clause ...............................197
The how-to: What you need to do ..............................197
Protecting yourself against fraud ...............................199
Renting to Own with a Lease Option Agreement................199
Grasping the fundamentals of a
lease option agreement............................................201
Using the lease to earn some cash .............................202
Dealing with the option................................................203
Paying Close Attention to the Forfeiture Clause.................206
Chapter 13: Partnering to Share the Risk
and the Equity . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 207
Differentiating between a Partnership
and a Joint Venture .............................................................207
Weighing the Pros and Cons of Partnerships......................208
Finding a Partner with the Right Stuff ..................................210
Scoping out prospective partners..............................211
Checking a prospective partner’s qualifications......212
Making sure your partner has what you need
and needs what you have ........................................213
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Drawing Up a Partnership Agreement..................................214
Drafting the agreement ................................................215
Complying with the tax code ......................................217
Avoiding Common Pitfalls......................................................217
Chapter 14: Profiting from No-Money-Down
and Other Creative Deals . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 219
Financing Your Down Payment with a Second Mortgage ...220
Taking out an 80-20 loan ..............................................220
Disclosing your second mortgage ..............................221
Wholesaling for Fun and Profit..............................................221
Buying and selling options ..........................................222
Assigning a purchase agreement ................................224
Selling the Tax Benefits ..........................................................226
Trading Spaces: 1031 Exchanges ..........................................226
Qualifying for a 1031 exchange ...................................228
Meeting the deadlines..................................................229
Selling Other Equitable Interests ..........................................229
Leaseholds and other rights .......................................229
Naming rights, air rights, and
other unimaginable stuff..........................................230
Part V: The Part of Tens...................................231
Chapter 15: Ten Ways to Avoid Common
Beginner Blunders . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 233
Focusing on More than Just a Low Interest Rate................233
Getting Preapproved ..............................................................234
Doing Your Homework: Property Research.........................234
Making a Reasonable Down Payment...................................235
Comparing at Least Three Good Faith Estimates ...............236
Viewing at Least Ten Properties before Making an Offer...236
Checking Your Credit Score before Applying for a Loan ...237
Buying with Your Brain and Not Your Heart........................237
Monitoring the Pulse of Current Market Conditions..........238
Calculating the NOI and DSCR
on Commercial Properties .................................................238
Chapter 16: Ten Steps to Take before Closing . . . . . . . 239
Get and Review a Copy of the Appraisal..............................239
Review the Title Commitment
and Obtain Title Insurance ................................................240
Review All Closing Documents..............................................241
Review a Copy of the HUD-1 Closing Statement .................241
Get an Insurance Policy .........................................................242
Do a Walk-Through on the Property.....................................242
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Obtain Utility Final Readings and Schedule
the Transfer .........................................................................243
Review Updated Tenant Rent Roll ........................................243
Have Certified Funds or Wire Transfer Ready to Go ..........244
Confirm Date, Time, and Location of Closing......................244
Chapter 17: Ten Tips for Surviving
a Credit Crunch . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 245
Expand Your Search................................................................245
Choose Properties More Carefully........................................246
Focus on Foreclosures ...........................................................246
Look for Short-Sale Opportunities........................................247
Buy REO Properties ................................................................247
Search for High-Equity Properties ........................................248
Shift from a Buy-Sell to a Buy-Hold Strategy .......................248
Team Up with Your Mortgage Broker...................................249
Offer Your Agent a Bonus.......................................................249
Partner Up and Get Creative .................................................250
Glossary.........................................................251
Index .............................................................261
Table of Contents
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Introduction
R
eal estate investing is an expensive habit. You need money to
finance the purchase, renovate your fixer-upper, and cover
the holding costs while you prepare to sell or rent the property.
The good news is that it doesn’t all have to be
your money. In fact,
the less of your own money you can use and the more you can
borrow, the bigger the return on your investment. Add the poten-
tial credit and market woes like the first decade of the 2000s, and
investing in real estate also becomes a bit more of an adventure.
Lining up financial resources well in advance of scouring the neigh-
borhood for investment opportunities enables you to pounce on a
bargain and gives you leverage in negotiating the price you ulti-
mately pay for a property. When you place an offer on a house and
other bids come in, the seller may accept your offer of thousands
of dollars less simply because you have the financing in place to
quickly close the deal. Ready cash also frees you to plan and begin
rehabbing the property immediately instead of waiting around for
sluggish loan approvals and credit checks.
If you’re thinking that you can’t possibly get your mitts on enough
cash to finance your venture,
Financing Real Estate Investments For
Dummies
is the book for you. Here you discover the best sources
for investment capital and how to go about tapping into these
sources to fuel your next venture.
About This Book
This book isn’t a get-rich-quick guide to investing in real estate
or a guide or a tutorial on how to buy property with no money
down (although we do cover that topic).
Financing Real Estate
Investments For Dummies
delivers what the title promises — a
treasure map that shows you where to find sources of real estate
investment capital and guidance on how to dig it up.
Ralph and Chip are both seasoned investors. We’ve each built wealth
through investing in real estate — buying and selling fixer-uppers and
buying and renting out both residential and commercial property.
Although we have used our own money on occasion to finance our
purchases and renovations, we’ve primarily succeeded with the
use of other people’s money (OPM). Our grandmothers were our
first financial backers, but we’ve expanded our options since then.
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We have more than 50 years’ worth of combined experience in
buying and selling real estate and securing the financing to do it. In
this book, we share what we know with you, showing you how to
tap into loans from banks; mortgage companies; private lenders;
federal, state, and local government programs; and more. In the
process we cover financing for both residential and commercial
properties.
Conventions Used in This Book
Compared to other books on financing real estate investments,
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies is anything but con-
ventional, but we do use some conventions to call your attention
to certain items. For example:
Italics highlight new, somewhat technical terms, such as hard
money,
and emphasize words when we’re driving home a
point.
Boldface text indicates key words in bulleted and numbered
lists.
Monofont highlights Web addresses.
Financing the purchase and renovation of residential properties,
such as homes, is quite different from financing the purchase and
renovation of commercial properties. You deal with different
lenders who use different methods for evaluating your loan appli-
cation and the property you’re planning to buy.
In this book, we cover both types of financing, but you should
know up front the differences between residential and commercial
property:
Residential: One- to four-family dwellings classify as residen-
tial properties, which qualify for residential financing.
Commercial: Properties used to conduct business and any
rental properties designed to house more than four families
qualify as commercial real estate. Loan approval for these
properties hinges more on the property’s potential for gener-
ating sufficient income to make the payments than on the bor-
rower’s financial strength.
In addition, even though you see three author names on the cover
of this book — Chip, Ralph, and Joe — the “we” is usually Chip and
Ralph talking. Joe is the wordsmith — the guy responsible for
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies
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keeping you engaged and entertained and making sure we explain
everything as clearly and thoroughly as possible.
What You’re Not to Read
Although we encourage you to read this book from cover to cover
to maximize the return on your investment, we realize that in
today’s busy world you may have time to read only the information
pertinent to your situation. If so, you can safely skip anything you
see in a gray shaded box. We stuck this material in a box for the
same reason that most people stick stuff in boxes — to get it out of
the way, so you wouldn’t trip over it. However, you may find the
stories and brief asides uproariously funny and perhaps even
mildly informative (or vice versa).
Foolish Assumptions
We assume you already mastered the basics of investing in real
estate. If you haven’t, we encourage you to pick up a copy of either
(or both)
Real Estate Investing For Dummies, 2nd Edition, by Eric
Tyson and Robert S. Griswold, or
Commercial Real Estate Investing
For Dummies
by Peter Conti and Peter Harris (Wiley).
If you’re interested in flipping houses or focusing on foreclosure
properties, check out
Flipping Houses For Dummies or Foreclosure
Investing For Dummies
by Ralph R. Roberts with Joe Kraynak. If
you’re thinking of becoming a landlord, we strongly encourage you
to first read
Property Management For Dummies by Robert S.
Griswold. Not everyone has the right stuff to be a landlord, but if
you know what you’re getting into before you take on the role, you
can significantly improve your survival odds.
How This Book Is Organized
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies facilitates a skip-
and-dip approach. It presents the information in easily digestible
chunks, so you can skip to the chapter or section that grabs your
attention or meets your current needs, master it, and then skip to
another section or simply set the book aside for later reference.
To help you navigate, we took the 17 chapters that make up the
book and divvied them up into five parts. Here, we provide a quick
overview of what we cover in each part.
Introduction
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Part I: Gearing Up for Financing
Your Real Estate Investments
When you become a real estate investor, you’re essentially building
a business; you should build it on a strong foundation. In this part,
we cover the basics, providing you with definitions of standard ter-
minology and concepts you’re likely to encounter, introducing you
to the various sources of investment capital, showing you how to
protect yourself against potential risks, and leading you through
the process of gathering all the documents and other information
you need to apply for financing.
In the process, we reveal the power of using OPM to gain leverage
and expose your own money and other assets to less risk.
Part II: Financing the Purchase
of Residential Properties
In this part, we explore the many residential loan programs cur-
rently available, show you how to compare different loan packages
to find the one that costs the least overall, and lead you through
the loan application process from filling out the forms to closing.
By the end of this part, you should have the financing you need to
start hunting for residential real estate investment opportunities.
Part III: Financing the Purchase
of Commercial Properties
In this part, we introduce you to the most common commercial
property types, so you can choose the type best suited to your
investment goals and evaluate the properties based on their poten-
tial for generating a positive cash flow. We take you on a tour of
some of the unique sources of financing available for commercial
ventures. Finally, we step you through the process of applying for
commercial real estate loans from application to closing.
Part IV: Sampling More Creative
Financing Strategies
In this part, you discover the pros and cons of hard money — cash
that’s generally easier but more expensive to borrow for purchasing
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies
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investment properties. We also show you how to finance the pur-
chase through the seller by purchasing properties on contract,
how to partner with an investor who’s cash heavy, and how to
track down no-money-down deals.
These options aren’t for everybody, but when you’re in the market
for investment properties and can’t get your hands on conven-
tional financing, these unconventional sources can be a deal saver.
Part V: The Part of Tens
The Part of Tens is the highlight of every For Dummies title, offer-
ing quick strategies, tips, and insights on whatever subject the
book covers. The chapters in this Part of Tens reveal how to avoid
the ten most common mistakes when financing real estate invest-
ments, which questions you should ask prospective lenders, ten
steps to take to prepare for your next closing, and ten strategies
for surviving a credit crunch.
Icons Used in This Book
Throughout this book, we sprinkle icons in the margins to cue you
in on different types of information that call out for your attention.
Here are the icons you’ll see and a brief description of each.
We want you to remember everything you read in this book, but if
you can’t quite do that, be sure to remember the important points
flagged with this icon.
Tips provide insider insight from behind the scenes. When you’re
looking for a better, faster, cheaper way to do something, check out
these tips.
“Whoa!” This icon appears when you need to be extra vigilant or
seek professional help before moving forward.
Where to Go From Here
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies is sort of like an
information kiosk. You can start with the chapters in Part I to
master the basics and then skip to Part II if you’re planning on
financing the purchase of residential property or Part III if your
focus is more on commercial properties.
Introduction
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For a quick primer on financing the purchase of real estate invest-
ments, check out Chapter 1. Chapter 4 is a great place to start if
you’re not sure where to start looking for lenders — this chapter
touches on everything from banks and mortgage companies to pri-
vate lenders and partnering with others who have cash.
We do consider Chapter 6 required reading. All too often investors
get burned because they focus too much on interest rates and not
on other factors contributing to the overall cost of borrowing
money. This chapter offers a quick way to compare two loans side-
by-side to determine which one costs less over the life of the loan.
If you’re planning to invest in commercial properties, Chapter 8 is
also required reading. In this chapter, we show you how to evalu-
ate different types of properties the way lenders do it when you
apply for a loan.
If you’re looking for information on a very specific topic, flip to the
back of the book, where you can find a comprehensive index of key
topics.
Financing Real Estate Investments For Dummies
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Part I
Gearing Up for
Financing Your Real
Estate Investments
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In this part . . .
T
he key to scoring affordable financing and keeping a
bigger chunk of your after-tax profits from real estate
investments is preparation. By understanding the leverage
you can gain using other people’s money (OPM) to finance
your investments and having all your financial records in
place, you increase your odds of securing financing with
attractive terms and interest rates.
By understanding tax laws and loopholes before you get
started, you can lay the groundwork necessary to maxi-
mize your tax deductions and exclusions and keep more
profit for yourself. And by understanding the differences
between different types of lenders, you gain access to
additional sources of investment capital you may never
have considered.
In this part, we help you build your real estate investment
venture on a firm foundation so you have ready access to
cash while minimizing your exposure to risk.
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Chapter 1
Taking a Crash Course in
Real Estate Investment
Financing
In This Chapter
Gaining leverage with other people’s money
Deciphering key terms
Grasping the difference between a home and investment property
Discovering vital sources of real estate investment capital
Getting ready to meet your lender
A
re you eager to set out on the road to building wealth through
real estate? Although we hate to hold you back, we do dis-
courage you from moving forward without the proper preparation.
Our advice doesn’t necessarily mean, however, that you need to
read the entire book from cover to cover before you purchase your
first investment property.
Here, we provide a quick primer on real estate financing along with
what you need to do to secure financing for your real estate invest-
ments. We also provide a generous supply of references to other
chapters in the book where you can find more detailed information
on specific topics. So without further ado, let the real estate financ-
ing primer begin.
Don’t let negative economic and credit information dampen your
desire to invest in real estate. The best time to purchase real estate
is when prices are low. You can still find and secure financing; you
just may need to look and work a little harder and smarter to get it.
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Pumping Up Your Purchasing
Power with Borrowed Money
If you have any reservations about borrowing money to buy real
estate, you need to overcome those reservations by developing a
better understanding of leverage — using borrowed money to buy
more and better properties, thus improving your chances of earn-
ing bigger profits.
In the following sections, we show you why the goal of owning a
property free and clear isn’t such a smart move, reveal the secret
of leveraging the power of borrowed money, and explain how you
can offer “cash” for properties even when financing the purchase.
Although we encourage investors to borrow money to increase
their leverage, keep in mind that borrowing money can carry signif-
icant risks. As an investor, you can take action to minimize the
risks — by carefully evaluating your real estate market and proper-
ties under consideration, overestimating costs, underestimating
profits, developing realistic backup plans, and so on; however you
can never completely eliminate the risk. You have to decide for
yourself what an acceptable level of risk is.
Minimizing your potential by owning
property free and clear
For many Americans, paying off their mortgage early and owning
their home free and clear is the real American dream. Life would be
so much better if they didn’t have to deal with a house payment.
For real estate investors, however, owning property free and clear
means that valuable equity is locked up in those properties —
equity they can use to finance the purchase of other revenue-
generating real estate. Don’t get caught in the trap of thinking that
paying off a mortgage loan is a smart move — it may be a noble
goal, but it’s rarely a savvy strategy.
Maximizing your potential
with other people’s money
Other people’s money (or OPM for short) is money that you borrow
from other people to finance your investments. OPM isn’t much of
a secret. Assuming you own a home, you probably used OPM to
buy it. You may have put down 5 to 10 percent of your own money
as a down payment and then borrowed the rest.
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In most cases, OPM helps you earn a profit. When you calculate in
the appreciation of the home, the tax savings it represents, infla-
tion, and other factors, you’re likely to earn more money off the
home than you pay out in interest over the life of the loan —
barring a major housing meltdown.
The same applies to your real estate investments. The more OPM
you can put to work for you, the more you stand to earn — as long
as your earnings from it exceed the cost of borrowing it. For more
info about OPM, check out Chapter 5.
Paying cash with borrowed money
In the world of real estate, cash is king. The buyer who shows up
with cash is in a significantly stronger position to purchase a prop-
erty and negotiate an attractive price and terms than a buyer who
shows up needing financing.
Chapter 1: Taking a Crash Course in Real Estate Investment Financing
11
Dealing with a major credit crunch
The mortgage meltdown, foreclosure epidemic, and global financial crisis that all
came to a head in 2008 led many real estate investors to believe that credit had all
but dried up. Banks were failing left and right, and the United States was forced to
step in with more than $1 trillion in economic rescue funds to keep cash flowing to
individuals and businesses that needed credit. Surely, real estate investors would
be the last on the list for cheap and easy credit.
Actually, the credit crunch didn’t put real estate investors out of business. In fact,
in many cases, it made conditions better for investors:
When the bubble burst, properties became much more affordable. Investors
could buy better properties for less money.
As millions of people worked through foreclosure, demand for rental properties
soared.
Financial institutions, eager to rid their books of empty, expensive, cash-sucking
foreclosures, became more willing to offer great deals. I (Chip) just had a client
pay $82,000 for a brand new property with a market value of about $275,000. The
bank had taken it back from a builder, was more than glad to just get it off the
books, and was willing to finance it with a 15-year loan.
A credit crunch doesn’t mean that financing disappears — it just means that you
probably need to look for it in some unusual places. Even FHA has investor financ-
ing with 25 percent down — and a lot of foreclosures they’re willing to deal on.
Throughout this book, we show you how to tap into these markets — credit crunch
and all.
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When we say cash is king, however, we’re not advising you to show
up with a suitcase full of money. We’re telling you to show up with
preapproved financing — a financial backer who can deliver the
cash on closing day. In other words, although you’re financing the
purchase as explained throughout this book, you’re still placing
yourself in a position to offer cash.
Brushing Up on Basic Real
Estate Financing Lingo
Throughout this book, we toss around some jargon common in the
real estate and mortgage lending industries. To the average con-
sumer, these terms may sound Greek, but we assure you that
they’re part of the English language. In the following sections, we
define the most common and often misunderstood of these terms.
Identifying types of lenders
The moneymen and -women you deal with when securing financing
for purchasing investment property play various roles in the
process. You need to know whom you’re working with:
Commercial lenders: They’re financial institutions rather
than individuals. They include banks, credit unions, mutual
savings banks, savings and loan associations, and stock sav-
ings banks. (Chapter 9 discusses commercial lenders in
greater detail.)
Private lenders: A private lender is any individual who loans
money outside the channels of institutional lending. This
person can be a friend or relative, such as your Aunt Mabel,
or an investor. Real estate investors often rely on private
lenders for access to investment capital when banks and
other financial institutions turn them down. (For more about
private lenders, check out Chapter 11.)
Mortgage banker: Mortgage bankers are financial institutions
that directly fund home loans and either service those loans
themselves (arranging and collecting monthly payments and
managing any escrow accounts) or sell the mortgages to
investors and contract out the servicing of the loans.
Servicer: The servicer is the institution contracted or
appointed to collect the monthly payments from the bor-
rower. They have to account for all payments and disburse-
ments and provide yearly statements showing all transactions
within a mortgage account to the borrower.
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Mortgage broker: Mortgage brokers are licensed by the state
to assist borrowers in finding mortgage lenders, comparing
loan programs, applying for mortgage loans, and securing
financing for purchasing real estate. They act as the eyes and
ears for many different mortgage lenders.
Loan officer: Loan officers work for mortgage bankers or bro-
kers to assist clients in securing financing for purchasing real
estate. They essentially do the same thing brokers do, but
they have to work for a licensed broker or lender.
Loan originator: Another name for a mortgage broker or loan
officer.
See Chapter 4 for more on these types of lenders.
Grasping different loan types
Throughout this book, we introduce you to various types of loans
for financing the purchase of real estate, including conforming and
nonconforming loans, jumbo loans, and hard money loans. In the
following list, we define the most common loan types and toss in
some additional information that you may find useful.
Conforming loan: A conforming loan is one that meets the cri-
teria set forth by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac — the organiza-
tions that purchase the loans and then package them up to
sell on Wall Street. In general, to qualify for a conforming loan,
the borrower must
Show sufficient income to cover monthly payments.
Have enough cash for a down payment and reserves.
Have a good credit history.
For additional details about conforming loans and current cri-
teria, visit the Fannie Mae Web site at
www.efanniemae.com.
Nonconforming loans: These include everything else outside
the Fannie/Freddie box. Sometimes referred to in the market
as
subprime or even exotic loans, they’re bought by other
financial companies or investment banks and packaged to be
sold to Wall Street investors. When the subprime market suf-
fers, as it did starting in 2008, far fewer of these types of secu-
rities make it to market.
Conventional loans: These loans are outside the sphere
of the government. In other words, they’re not FHA- or VA-
secured loans and aren’t underwritten by any government
agency.
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Jumbo loans: As its name suggests, a jumbo loan represents a
lot of money — specifically, more money than you can borrow
under the limits of a conforming loan.
Hard money loans: Also referred to as bridge loans, they’re
typically short-term, high-interest loans that enable investors
to get their mitts on some cash in a hurry. You can expect to
pay several points upfront (a
point is equivalent to one per-
cent of the total loan amount) plus up to double the going
interest rate. (For more about hard money and strategies for
using it to your advantage, check out Chapter 11.)
Government loan programs: The government isn’t really in the
business of loaning money to homeowners and investors, but
it facilitates the process for lenders by insuring the loans — if
the borrower defaults on the loan, the government steps in to
cover any losses for the lender.
The two most common government loan programs are Federal
Housing Authority (FHA) and Veterans Administration (VA)
loans. But federal, state, and local governments also provide
loan programs to encourage investment in disaster areas and
neighborhoods that they’re seeking to develop. Within the
FHA and VA programs are some great hidden opportunities for
investors. (See Chapter 4 for more about specific government
loan programs.)
Brushing up on important legal lingo
Even though real estate deals are generally classified as financial,
they involve plenty of legalities, especially in relation to who owns
the property or has a stake in it. Although real estate–related legal
terms can fill an entire dictionary, you should have a working
knowledge of the following three:
Deed: A deed is a legal document that grants rights to a prop-
erty. Whenever you purchase a property, whoever is handling
the closing must file the deed with the county’s register of
deeds to make the transfer of ownership official. As the offi-
cial owner, you have the right to borrow against the property
and transfer your rights of ownership.
Be careful signing any deed, especially a
quitclaim deed (the
deed that allows a property’s owner to relinquish all rights to
the property). Real estate con artists often use the quitclaim
deed to hijack property from unwary owners. They may hide
a single page quitclaim deed in a stack of papers, fooling the
owner into signing the document without knowing what
they’re signing. Then, they run down to the register of deeds
and file the deed, making themselves the new owners, so they
can take out bogus loans against the property.
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Lien: A lien is a legal claim that a creditor holds against a
property in lieu of payment. Several parties can place a lien
on a property, including the lender who holds any first or
second mortgage, the county tax assessor (for unpaid taxes),
and contractors (if they financed the repairs or renovations).
As an investor, knowing who (if anyone) has a lien against a
property you’re purchasing and the monetary value of that
lien is important. All lien holders need to be paid in full upon
sale of the property. If the property has a lien against it that
the seller fails to disclose, you may become liable for paying it
when you take ownership of the property.
Promissory note: Whenever you borrow money, you have to
sign a promissory note pledging to pay back the loan in full
according to terms of the loan, which always specifies a dead-
line for full payment. Think of a promissory note as an IOU (as
in “I owe you” this amount of money).
The promissory note is your pledge to pay back the loan. The
mortgage or deed of trust names the property as collateral in
the event that you default on the loan.
Chapter 1: Taking a Crash Course in Real Estate Investment Financing
15
Who gets first dibs?
In the event of a foreclosure, certain liens take
precedence
over others, meaning
that when the property is sold at auction, certain lien holders are paid off first:
Tax lien: The proceeds from the foreclosure sale pay off any unpaid property
taxes first.
First mortgage: If any money from the proceeds of the sale remain, it pays off
the first mortgage or as much of the first mortgage as possible. This is also
referred to as a
senior lien.
Second mortgage: If the homeowner took out a second mortgage, any remain-
ing proceeds from the sale go toward paying it off. Any second (or third or
fourth) mortgages are also referred to as
junior liens
.
Construction liens: If money still remains, it goes to the next lien holders in order
of precedence.
Homeowners: After all the lien holders receive their cuts, the foreclosed-upon
homeowners get the remaining crumbs, which can actually be quite a chunk of
change if they had a lot of equity in the property.
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Pointing out mortgage concepts
When you take out a loan, the lender requires something of value
(collateral) to make sure it has something valuable to sell and
recoup its investment if you default on the loan. This collateral is
officially presented in the form of a mortgage or deed of trust
depending on the jurisdiction:
Mortgage: A mortgage is a contract between the lender and
borrower that gives the lender the right to foreclose on the
property in the event that the borrower defaults on the loan.
Deed of trust: A deed of trust is a mortgage contract that
places control of the deed in the hands of a third party — a
trustee. The trustee has the power to foreclose on the prop-
erty in the event that the borrower defaults on the loan.
The mortgage market is large and complex, but it consists of two
main divisions: a
primary and a secondary mortgage market.
Primary: This is the market in which you do business. It con-
sists of financial institutions that lend you money.
Secondary: This is the market where institutional lenders and
Wall Street investors converge. The primary lenders who actu-
ally loan money to homeowners and investors turn around
and sell the mortgages or deeds of trust to investors. This
gives the lenders more money to make available to borrowers.
Examining equity
Equity is the amount of money you’d have if you sold the property
today and paid off the balance due on the loan. More importantly,
as an investor, you can pull equity out of a property by borrowing
against it. This power enables you to put that equity to work for
you in other investments.
Thanks to the credit crisis in 2008 and 2009, the equity require-
ments to obtain financing are growing. Lenders are taking a closer
look at market values, especially in what they call
declining areas
areas showing a pattern of recently declining housing values. As an
investor, you should be doing the same thing. Be cautious when
calculating equity positions and profit margins.
Although we encourage investors to tap the power of equity, keep-
ing some equity in a property (especially the home you own) is a
good idea. Having equity to borrow against in the event of a finan-
cial setback may save you from foreclosure and bankruptcy.
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Looking at loan-to-value (LTV)
The loan-to-value (LTV) is the ratio of the total loan amount to
the value of the property. If you’re buying a $200,000 home with
$40,000 down and applying for a $160,000 loan, the LTV would be
$160,000 ÷ $200,000 = 80 percent
Generally speaking, lenders want to see lower LTVs for investment
properties than for homes because a lower LTV provides more of a
buffer to cover the increased risks inherent in investment proper-
ties. Check out Chapter 3 for more about calculating the LTV and
how lenders use this number to evaluate risk.
Distinguishing Investment
and Home Financing
Your first real estate investment should be your own home. In fact,
if you don’t own your home, we advise you to put down this book
and pick up a copy of
Home Buying For Dummies by Eric Tyson and
Ray Brown (Wiley) first. Owning your own home carries the least
risk and the most potential tax benefits while bringing you up to
speed on the basics of real estate investing and ownership.
After you’ve purchased a home, you should have a fairly good
understanding of the mortgage loan application and approval
process. (We provide a refresher course in Chapter 7.) However,
real estate financing differs quite a bit when you take on the role of
investor rather than homeowner. You and the lender take on more
risk. As a result, you can expect to pay more for the privilege of
borrowing money. In addition, your borrowing strategy is likely to
change. In the following sections, we cover these differences in
greater detail, so you know what to expect before diving in.
Paying a premium for riskier
investment loans
When you invest in your own home, you literally have a vested
interest in making payments — if you don’t, you lose the roof over
your head. On the flip side, if you lose an investment property, it
may be painful, but it’s never
that serious, and lenders are well
aware of the difference. For them, investment loans are riskier
propositions. To mitigate the risk, they generally
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Require a larger down payment.
Demand a larger loan-to-value ratio. (See “Looking at loan to
value (LTV)” earlier in this chapter.)
Charge more interest upfront in the form of points.
Charge a higher interest rate.
Require proof that you have reserves or liquid assets available
in case things don’t go as planned.
The actions that lenders take to mitigate the risks and the interest
rates and fees they charge vary greatly depending on the borrower
and the deal that’s on the table. Just make sure you have all the
documentation and figures ready when you meet with your lender
for the first time, as explained in Chapter 3.
Using quick cash to
snag bargain prices
When you’re shopping for a mortgage to buy a home for your
family, you’re usually looking for a low-interest package, no or very
few points, and attractive terms. With investment properties,
cash
flow
trumps interest rate. In other words, access to cash is often
more important than the cost of the loan. To find out more about
the relative importance of cash flow and how to shop for loans
with the lowest interest rates and fees, see Chapter 6.
If the numbers work, what you pay in interest doesn’t matter.
Interest is just another expense. If you subtract all your expenses
and can still earn the profit you want, paying thousands of dollars
in interest over a relatively short period is acceptable.
Accounting for taxes on your
capital gains (or losses)
When buying and selling a primary residence, you don’t have to
think too much about the tax ramifications of the transactions. In
the United States, a huge chunk of any profit you earn from the sale
is usually tax exempt — up to $250,000 if you own the home your-
self or double that if you and your spouse sell the home.
However, when you’re selling investment real estate, any profits
are subject to capital gains taxes. During the writing of this book,
profits from real estate investments were taxed as follows:
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Long-term capital gains: 15 percent if you hold the property
for at least a year and a day.
Short-term capital gains: 35 percent if you sell the property in
fewer than 12 months from the date you purchased it.
Income tax: If profits from investing in real estate are your
sole income, the IRS may consider it your job and tax your
profits as income, complete with an additional 15 percent in
self-employment tax.
We’re not tax experts. Consult a CPA who has experience dealing
with real estate investors for details on how the government is
going to tax your profits and for suggestions on how to reduce
your tax burden. Your measure of success isn’t how much you
gross but how much you net. By reducing your tax bill, you can sig-
nificantly increase your net gain.
Protecting your personal assets
Just like most things worth doing, real estate investing exposes
you to risk. Perhaps the biggest risk is that you’re working with
borrowed money from lenders who expect you to pay it back. If
you make a lousy investment decision or an investment goes belly-
up despite your best efforts, lenders are going to do everything
legally possible to collect their money.
You also face the ever-present risk of litigation — having a dis-
agreement with a buyer, seller, tenant, contractor, or someone else
that eventually leads to a costly lawsuit.
Eliminating risk isn’t possible, but you can take several measures
to lessen the risk, including operating through an LLC, transferring
personal assets to someone else, or having a qualified attorney
cover your back. Check out Chapter 2 for more details.
Exploring Common Sources
of Investment Capital
You probably picked up this book because you want to start
investing in real estate, but you don’t know where to dig up the
cash to do your first deal. In the following sections, we show you
where to start digging.
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Tapping your own cash reserves
If you’re single, or you and your significant other are on the same
page about this real estate investing thing, cracking into your nest
egg to finance your investments may be the quickest way to get
your fingers on some investment capital.
It’s also the riskiest option, because if anything goes wrong — you
get laid off or fired, become too ill to work, or encounter unex-
pected expenses — you have fewer reserves to keep you afloat. In
addition, limiting yourself to your own resources also limits your
purchase power — you have to buy houses in a lower price range
and may not have sufficient cash to properly renovate the property.
A great way to ruin a relationship is to bet the farm on big profits
without the knowledge and complete agreement of your spouse or
significant other. If your investment doesn’t pan out (and even if it
does), the other person may take offense at not being consulted.
Even with these caveats, many beginning investors have gotten
their start by financing their own ventures — partially or in full.
And you want to know about these resources if you need some
quick cash in a pinch.
Clearing out your bank accounts
Having a few thousand dollars socked away in a savings account is
always a good idea, just in case you run into a cash flow problem. If
that house you bought and fixed up is taking a few months longer
than expected to sell, your little nest egg can help cover the pay-
ments until you find a buyer.
Use your savings as a reserve, not as your main mode of financing.
Having some cash to fall back on can save you in a pinch.
Borrowing against the equity in your home
As your home’s value rises and you pay down the principal, you
build equity. You can often borrow against this equity by taking out
a home equity loan or line of credit and then use the money for
whatever you want, including purchasing other real estate. The
recent credit crisis has made it harder to find these loans, but
they’re still out there for well-qualified borrowers.
We don’t recommend that you cash out all the equity in your
home, but if you have a substantial amount of equity, cashing out a
portion of it can help you come up with a down payment or cover
the cost of repairs and renovations. (For more about home equity
loans and lines of credit, skip to Chapter 11.)
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Financing investments through a self-directed IRA
More and more investors are choosing to set up self-directed IRAs
and other types of retirement accounts that enable them to invest
in real estate rather than in stocks and bonds. The reasoning: Real
estate often provides a better and sometimes even more secure
return on your investment.
With a self-directed IRA, you can buy and sell properties out of
your retirement account. Setting up a self-directed IRA, however, is
no simple matter. Typically, a trust company manages the money
and properties in the account, and all profits and losses from your
investments must stay in that account. Withdrawing money from
the account results in the same IRS penalties you have to pay if
you withdraw money from any type of retirement account.
Consult your financial advisor and accountant for details about
using a self-directed IRA to finance your real estate investments. If
a self-directed IRA isn’t an option, you may be able to borrow
money against your retirement account. Keep in mind, however,
that borrowing against your retirement savings places those sav-
ings at risk, as does any other investment.
Charging expenses on your credit cards
Maxing out your credit cards to purchase a car, clothes, electron-
ics, groceries, and other items that provide no return on your
investment is never a good idea. Using your credit cards to pur-
chase investment properties that offer a solid, relatively quick
return on your investment, however, can be a savvy (though risky)
financial move.
Consider credit cards a last resort to cover the costs of repairs and
renovations if financing is tight near the end of a project. With this
strategy, your investment activities can directly affect your per-
sonal finances, which increases your exposure to risk. For more
about this option, check out Chapter 11.
Borrowing from commercial lenders
One of the best ways to finance the purchase of investment proper-
ties is to meet with a qualified mortgage broker who can help you
find and evaluate various loan programs. These plans are often
your best deals — costing the least in upfront fees and interest.
For more about finding commercial lenders, check out Chapter 4. If
you’re investing in residential property, Chapter 5 reveals the vari-
ous residential loan programs to choose from. If you’re buying
commercial property, turn to Chapter 9 for guidance on choosing
the right loan program.
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Don’t confuse “commercial property” with “commercial lender.” A
commercial property is any property that isn’t a one- to four-family
residential dwelling. A
commercial lender is an institution (as
opposed to an individual) that loans money. In other words, you
can use a commercial lender to finance the purchase of residential
investment property.
Obtaining a hard money loan
When banks and other financial institutions turn down your
requests for investment capital (or you don’t have the time to con-
vince them that a deal is pure gold), consider borrowing money
from a hard money lender, as explained in Chapter 11.
One of the main advantages of a hard money lender is that the
person is likely to accept the property you’re buying as all the col-
lateral needed to secure the loan, so you don’t have to place your
home at risk.
Financing your purchase
through the seller
Property owners who are eager to sell and don’t need all the cash
at once are often willing to finance the purchase themselves. This
tactic enables them to profit in two ways — by selling you the
property for more than they paid for it and collecting interest from
you. Seller financing take either of the following forms:
Land contract: A land contract is like a mortgage, except the
seller acts as the bank.
Lease option agreement: A lease option agreement is like a
rent-to-own deal — you lease the property for a specified
period, at the end of which time you have the option to buy it.
For more about seller financing, check out Chapter 12.
Taking on a partner
Whenever you don’t have something (like money, skills, time, or
talent) to accomplish a particular goal, you can acquire those
skills, buy or hire them, or create a partnership with someone who
already has what you need. If you have something someone else
needs and they have what you need, you have what it takes to form
a mutually beneficial relationship. For details on how to partner
with someone who has the cash you need, check out Chapter 13.
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Choose a partner as carefully as you choose a spouse. Partnerships
often end when one person scams the other or disagreements arise
over who’s putting more into the projects and who’s getting more
out of them. Have your attorney write up a contract, complete with
a prenuptial type agreement stating how all the assets will be
divvied up in the event that you part company.
Prepping to Meet with a Lender
Walk into a bank empty-handed and explain to the loan officer that
you need a loan to start investing in real estate, and we can almost
guarantee that you’ll be laughed out the door. Before you even
think about meeting with a prospective lender, get all your ducks in
a row. Copy all the financial documents lenders are going to ask for
and construct a fairly detailed plan on how you’re going to profit
by investing in real estate. This section gives you an overview of
what you need to do before visiting your lender. Chapter 4 pro-
vides complete in-depth info.
Gathering paperwork and other info
Before approving your request for a loan, lenders want to know
whether you’re good for the money — how likely you are to make
the monthly payments and pay back the loan in full. For investors,
this means two things:
You’re in pretty good financial shape right now and have a
fairly clean credit history.
The property you’re planning to buy is more than worth the
money you’re borrowing to pay for it, and (if you’re going to
be renting out the property) it will generate sufficient income
to more than cover all your expenses along with the monthly
payments.
To verify your creditworthiness for yourself and be sure you have
all the documents and other information your lender requires, stuff
a folder full of a copy of each of the following items:
Credit reports from all three credit reporting agencies
A net worth statement (assets – liabilities = net worth)
A debt ratio statement (ratio of what you owe to what
you own)
Last two months’ bank statements
Last 30 days’ pay stubs
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Last two years’ federal tax returns and schedules
Statements of any business income
Appraisal or comparative market analysis for the property
Cash flow analysis of the property
Loan-to-value ratio of the property
Zoning information for the property’s location
City and county records for the property
Crafting a business plan
Real estate investors often scoff at the idea of creating a business
plan
— a detailed presentation that shows how an investor plans
to purchase a specific property and earn a profit from it. Investors
often just want to buy and sell and rent out property and make a
lot of money — that’s the plan. They don’t like to think of them-
selves as pencil-necked pencil pushers. If they feel in their gut that
a property is a solid investment, that’s good enough for them.
At least that’s the false image that many people have of investors.
The most successful investors, however, do the math. They crunch
the numbers. And if the numbers don’t work, they don’t do the deal.
Do your homework. Do a comparative market analysis of the prop-
erty to make sure it’s worth what you think it’s worth. If you’re
buying rental property, check the rental history of the property —
the owner’s tax records showing income and expenses. Craft a
business plan showing exactly how this property is going to be a
revenue generator.
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Chapter 2
Shielding Your Personal
Assets from Investment Risks
In This Chapter
Grasping the need to cover your assets
Investing as a corporation to reduce your exposure to risk
Assigning ownership of certain assets to others
Avoiding collateral and cross-collateral damage
Dodging real estate and mortgage fraud
F
unny thing about lenders — when you borrow money from
them, they expect you to pay it back. To ensure repayment of
a loan, the lender usually requires that you sign a promissory note
and a mortgage or deed of trust. The
promissory note is your per-
sonal promise to repay the loan in full. The
mortgage or deed of
trust
names certain property as collateral for the loan.
If you happen to
default on the loan (fail to make payments as stip-
ulated), the lender has the right to
foreclose (sell your property to
the highest bidder). If the lender can’t sell the property for at least
as much as you owe on it, it may be able to sue you for the differ-
ence
(deficiency) in jurisdictions that allow deficiency judgments.
As an investor, you want to limit the assets that the lender has the
right to seize in lieu of payment. If you fail to make payments on a
loan you took out to purchase an investment property, for exam-
ple, you want to make sure that the bank can’t take possession of
the home you live in, other businesses you own, or other assets,
such as your car. To prevent the lender from going after personal
assets and other business assets as payment, you need to
shield
those assets — keep them legally and financially separate from
your investment properties. In this chapter, you discover various
strategies for doing just that.
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